Who am I? - Introduction

Kategori: Me

So now that I have this blog up and running and functioning pretty much the way I want it (I might make some changes, who knows) I thought I would make an introduction about myself, so you'd get to know me better. I'm probably gonna make a post or probably a video (which I will post here as well) on like "my jurney" with Moebius. But just a quick introdution:
 
My name is Caroline Håkanson, many of you probably know me from facebook or youtube.
 
I am 20 years old and I come from Stockholm, Sweden. Although I don't live in Stockholm at the moment, because I'm studying to to become a social worker, up in the North of Sweden.
 
My dream is to work with teenagers, starting out as a welfare officer but I am also a bit interesten in working as a welfare officer with cancer patients, or work at the migration board (I don't know if that's the right word for it. I looked it up and that's what it said anyway - but with imigrants pretty much anyway) to help people who come here to get a better life (if they come from somewhere where it was bad) and I'm also a bit intereseted in working with people with addiction to drugs and alcohol. So yeah, as you see I haven't really made up my mind yet - but that's the beauty with being/becoming a social worker, that you have such a wide range of occupations to choose from. But as I said the dream is to work with teenagers, so that is probably what I will start out with.
 
I am diagnosed with Moebius Syndrome (for you who don't know what that is click here) and I got the diagnosis when I was about one year old, so for me it's never been a question of "what do I have?". It's more been "how can I learn more and educate others" and that's where my youtube channel come in to the picture.
 
I started the channel because I wanted to spread the awareness of Moebius Syndrome and also I wanted to get to knwo others with it, because in Sweden we aren't that many. I think we are about 100-200 and I have met maybe 10-15 of those.
 
So yeah, I started it as a way of spreading awareness, getting to know others and to get my story out there. And I never ever could have guessed how much beautiful things I would get out of it. I have gotten so many amazing messages, e-mails and such from people saying that I've helped them, that I have mangaged to take their worries away (this has mostly been from parents with kids who have moebius, that have been worried about their kids future) and they can see that their kids will have a good and happy life, I have gotten questions, I have through youtube been contacted by both a student from Spain who was doing a research on Moebius and asked me to be a part of her work by interwieving me, via skype and I have been contacted by a speech therapist from Scotland that asked me to answer a few questions that her patient, who was doing the same surgery I had done two years earlier and so much more.
 
But I've also met so many beautful people. Some through youtube but most of them when I found the facebook groups.
 
But one of the most amazing things that have happended thanks to me having Moebius is that I got to meet many of these wonderful people this summer, at the big Moebius conference! I am forever grateful for the Swedish Moebius foundation who gave me that opportunity. That conference was the three single best days of my life this far. I have met other moebians before, here in Sweden but meeting so many of you guys, from all around the world, it was so increadible. And here in Sweden there is (as far as I know) no moebian around my age. Most of them are very young (kids) and the others are like 25+ (I'm 20). So the fact that I got to meet people my age, with the same thing as me, it's indescribable, it was just so increadible. And also, to meet many of the Moebians I have seen on youtube and such, and some of them I even look up to, that was really cool. E.g Tim Smith (who I use to call Mr Moebius - since he is the founder of the facebook groups and themanyfacesofmoebiussundrome-website, and Kevin Smant, Matt (oh no I can't rememter his last name at the moment!) ... It was to me so increadible. And all of the nice comments I got there, from people who had seen me on youtube - wow! I'm not gonna ramle on about this too much because I'm making a video/post on it later.
 

 
Me, Tim Smith and my wonderful friend (who I went on this trip with) Karin <3
 
Wow ok, I said a short introduction. Hm, I'm gonna try to wrap it up.
 
So I'm Caroline, 20 years old, pretty much always known about Moebius (fom the age that I was able to fully grasp the situation), live in a town of 60 000 people up in the North of Sweden, called Östersund. I have a mother, a father, a sister, a cat and some fish. Will in three yeras time be working with my dream, make youtube videos, dream of help making the world into a better place, want to spread the awareness of Moebius Syndrome. Really really want to be able to go to the next Moebius conference (hopefully as a speaker ;) )... hm what else. Hah, there's so much more but I guess I'll take that some other time.
 

Feel free to leave a comment or ask anything - I'm here to help :)
 
/Caroline
 
 
 

Kommentarer


Kommentera inlägget här: